Legends of the Guard – Volume 1

Preview Gallery

Inside the June Alley Inn, located in the western mouse city of Barkstone, mice gather to tell tales, each trying to outdo the other. A competition, of sorts, begins. The rules: Every story must contain one truth, one lie and have never been told in that tavern before. With the winner getting his bar tab cleared, fantastic stories are spun throughout the evening. Legends of the Guard is a Mouse Guard anthology series featuring the work of artists and storytellers handpicked by series creator David Petersen, including Jeremy Bastian, Ted Naifeh, Alex Sheikman, Sean Rubin, Alex Kain, Terry Moore, Gene Ha, Lowell Francis, Katie Cook, Guy Davis, Nate Pride, Jason Shawn Alexander, Karl Kerschl, Craig Rousseau, Mark Smylie, & Joao Lemos to write and illustrate the stories told by the tavern mice.

Purchase on Amazon:


Legends of the Guard Series Book 1
Legends of the Guard Vol. 1 Hardcover:
ISBN-10: 1932386947
ISBN-13: 978-1932386943
144 pages ~ Published November 2010

2011 Will Eisner Award Winner:
Best Anthology – Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Vol. 1

“The fact that Petersen could step aside and allow other creators to come in and work in [his] world of mice is a true testament to how beloved this property is” – Doug Zawisza, Comic Book Resources

“Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard is a fun anthology series that’s both rewarding to fans and a good jumping on point if you’re unfamiliar with the world of Mouse Guard…the stories…stand on their own…” – Chris Murphy, Comics Alliance


Mouseguard™ Copyright 2018 David Petersen